on March 11, 2015 Media Industry News

Awards to Look For at the 2015 NAB Show

Subscribe to Email Updates


This year’s NAB Show -- held in Las Vegas from April 11-16, 2015 -- is fast-approaching, and with close to 100,000 people in attendance, we thought it would be a great time to take a look at a few of this year’s Awards and Honorees.

New Award Category:

For the first time, the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) will be presenting the Digital Leadership Award to “an individual at a broadcast station, group or network who has had a significant role in transforming a traditional broadcast business to succeed on digital media platforms in a measurable way.” Entries for nominations closed on March 5, but the winner and first recipient of this award will be presented at the April 15 Luncheon and is expected to be an individual who contributed to new revenues or audience growth across mobile, social media, or web-based technologies.

Radio Awards:

Although the finalists of the Digital Leadership Award have not yet been announced, the 50 finalists of the 28th Annual NAB Crystal Radio Awards have. Radio stations with “outstanding year-round commitment to community service” will be honored, and the winners announced, at the April 14 NAB Radio Luncheon. The keynote address will be delivered by Marilu Henner -- a Golden Globe nominee and New York Times bestselling author. Kevin Ryder and Gene Baxter of Southern California’s “Kevin & Bean Morning Show” will also be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame at Tuesday’s Radio Luncheon.

NAB Broadcast Hall of Fame Induction:

Another household name being inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame this year is Shonda Rhimes. She is no stranger to prestigious awards, having won 2005 and 2013 AFI TV program of the year awards for “Grey’s Anatomy” and “Scandal” -- to name only a few of many. She has also been named by Fortune Magazine as one of the “50 Most Powerful Women in Business,” and President Obama appointed her as a Trustee of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in September 2013.

NAB President Gordon Smith says, "The characters and storylines she creates draw in viewers and keep them coming back for more.” Rhimes will be joining the likes of NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame television inductees Betty White and Ted Koppel and previous shows inducted include “SNL”, “The Tonight Show”, and “Star Trek.”

Engineering Achievement Awards:

NAB has announced its recipients of the 2015 NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award, the 2015 NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award, and the 2015 NAB Service to Broadcast Engineering Achievement Award to be honored at the Wednesday, April 15 Technology Luncheon. Since 1959, NAB’s Engineering Achievement awards “are given to individuals who are nominated by their peers for significant contributions to advancing the state of the art in broadcast engineering.”

Thomas F. King will be receiving the Radio Engineering Achievement Award (his father is a 2007 recipient of the Engineering Award), for his work in the field of improving AM broadcasting. Richard Friedel, the EVP and general manager for Fox Networks Engineering & Operations, will be receiving the Television Engineering Achievement Award and Ray Conover, a senior engineering consultant at Hubbard Broadcasting will be receiving the Service to Broadcast Engineering Achievement Award. Check out the Engineering Achievement Award recipients’ incredible achievements.

If you are coming to the NAB show this year, be sure to make time to celebrate some of these amazing Awards and Honorees! From the Technology Innovation Award to the Spirit of Broadcasting Award, you can be a part of celebrating individuals helping change your field. See the full list of Awards Programs here.

New Call-to-action

Ben Bokaer

Support Manager at MediaSilo. Avid movie-goer. I also own the most adorable kitten-- her name is Sassafras.